Chicken Stock/Kitchen Cheats, Part II

Today I introduce another staple kitchen cheat…homemade chicken stock…we use stock as a base for a lot of things (rice, to reheat chicken to keep it moist, soup etc.) Of course you can use store bought chicken broth, I certainly always have it on hand in the event I don’t have any stock. But! Stock is better! And you don’t need to pay extra for it if you do a little advance planning and stockpiling.

I keep a ziplock bag in the freezer (a trick I learned from my wise Mamacita)…and whenever I have scraps of suitable veggies (onion, garlic, herbs, carrots, celery) I throw it in the bag.

DSC02730

When I have a chicken carcass it is time to start a brewing thine stock!

DSC02728

I usually throw in a couple of extra stalks of celery and chopped carrot.

DSC02734

Put the frozen veggie mix plus extra carrots and celery (if needed) in the large pot with the chicken carcass, add 2 quarts of water, bring to a boil, then turn down to simmer for 3-4 hours…

DSC02736

Here is what you are left with.

DSC02737

Pour through a strainer into a large container.

DSC02739

Divide into several containers, keep some in the fridge and freeze the rest.

DSC02741

Leave a Reply

