Mortar & Pestle Pesto

So Brad and I didn’t do Christmas. Well, until a couple of days ago when I decided to cash in.  I have been looking for the perfect mortar and pestle for a while now to no avail, it was either too small, too expensive, to chintzy, just not the ONE. Until I happened to see one on The Chew (I will interject that I actually don’t love that show, but it happened to be on… it was obviously destiny this relationship between me and my M & P). I loved it, was sure I wouldn’t be able to find it online, and if I did I was sure it would be too $$$. Brad being the master Googlemeister that he is not only found it, but got it for me, at a grand total of $19.99! Score!!

Nothing is better than a package in the mail with a special goody inside…

image(11)

8.5 inch diameter, AND it’s orange!

Pesto here I come!

image(13)

Now, exercise is not my strong point, but I have always wanted nice arms…I think I found the way.

image(14)

This was seriously hard work (and note, not the best activity with a baby trying to go to sleep…), but the 1 cup of pesto yield was so worth it.

image(15)

Now I really made a basil paste…I “forgot” pine nuts at the grocery store, well actually you know that feeling when you just want to get the heck out of there and don’t want to navigate your car seat ladden cart through the aggressive shoppers to the other side of the store? Yea, that was me…soooo I didn’t really forget.

I didn’t neglect my laundry just for pesto…oiula! Pesto Naan pizzas for dinner.  They were a hit! One with gorgonzola, mushrooms, shallots, and prosciutto the other with mozzarella and fresh tomato.

image(16)

Pesto:

  • 3/4 tsp Kosher salt
  • 2-3 large cloves of garlic, peeled
  • large bunch of basil, coarsely chopped (note: dry that basil…I didn’t dry it enough me thinks, I was impatient to get pounding!)
  • 5 TBSP olive oil
  • 1/4 c. pine nuts, toasted
  • 4 TBSP grated parmesan

(use a food processor if you don’t have a mortar and pestle)

  • Add garlic and salt, grind until a paste.
  • Add basil in 3 batches or so, grind until smooth (or your arm falls off)
  • Add olive oil 1 tablespoon at a time until well mixed.
  • If you have pine nuts, add along with parmesan, grind some more until pesto is smooth
Leave a Reply

