Kale & Portabello Strogonoff

Ahh the first post, feeling a bit of pressure! I will proceed nonetheless as if I were a pro blogger, no fear!

So today’s dinner was the epitome of what I look for in a quick, weeknight meal that is both tasty AND healthy! My inspiration came a la pinterest, from the blog Bev Cooks. The link to the original recipe is at the end of this post, below is my amateur recreation!  I will preface by stating I found the recipe at 6pm, sent my hubby out for a couple of ingredients (who has Portabellos hanging around?!), started meal at 6:57 and was sitting to eat at 7:28. Pretty good heh? Presenting…Kale & Portabello Strogonoff.

Gathering of said ingredients…

image

Mise en place of chopped ingredients…

image(2)image(3)

Saute onions in olive oil until soft (about 4 minutes), then add garlic, mushrooms, paprika, salt & pepper and saute until mushrooms soften and become dark (about 3 minutes).  Add the flour, mix well.

image(4)

Add the stock (note: I make chicken broth whenever I have a chicken, and keep on hand–thinking of, I will have to make a post on my Kitchen Cheats (i.e. Rotisserie Chicken!) but you can always use a premade broth) and tomato paste…insert warning to myself, read recipes fully!  I accidentally added the whole can of paste and had to fish out all but a tablespoon, crisis averted!

image(5)

Stir together, add Kale and bay leaf (totally optional), simmer 5 minutes or so until. It always amazes me how little a bunch of kale turns into!

image(6)image(7)

Add al dente egg noodles (I used a whole package and cooked less time than packaging called for, about 5 minutes) and sour cream/greek yogurt.  I don’t usually have sour cream on hand but I happened to have some today,  I used only a tablespoon of sour cream for the amazinglysinfullydelicious flavor, the rest of the cup I used Greek Yogurt (healthier choice obviously!)

image(8)

Mix, mix, mix. Don’t forget to take out that pesky bay leaf if you used one! and ouila! Sprinkle some parm (kind of like bacon, always makes everything better!) and feel proud you created a one-pot healthy meal in 3o minutes!

image(10)

And because I refuse to pretend to be a picture perfect bloggette…I am a self-declared messy cooker…grab a glass of wine and clean up!

image(9)

Portobello Mushroom and Kale Stroganoff:

* 2 Tbs. extra-virgin olive oil
* 1 medium white onion, finely chopped
* 2 cloves garlic, minced
* 2 portobello mushrooms, cleaned, stemmed and sliced into 1/2 inch strips
* 1 Tsp smoked paprika
* 1 Tbs. all-purpose flour
* 1 1/2 cup vegetable (or chicken) stock
* 1 Tbs. tomato paste
* 1 bunch chopped kale
* 1 bay leaf
* 1/2 bag egg noodles (probably 2-3 cups)
* 1 cup sour cream (or Greek yogurt) (or you can use a little less if you get the creaminess you like) (I used maybe 3/4) (okay bye)
* coarse salt and freshly ground pepper

Heat the oil in a large skillet over medium-high. Add the onions and sauté for about 4 minutes, or until they start to soften. Add the garlic and mushrooms; season with the smoked paprika and a pinch of salt and pepper. Sauté another 3 minutes, until the mushrooms have softened and are darker in color.

Lightly dust the mushroom mixture with the flour and toss to combine.

Add the stock and the tomato paste. Stir to sort of dissolve the paste. Add the kale and the bay leaf; simmer 5 to 10 minutes.

In the meantime, cook the egg noodles in boiling water until it reaches al dente, maybe 5 minutes. Drain and add to the mushroom skillet.

Add the sour cream and stir to combine. Hmmmmm, creamy. Remove the bay leaf and dig on in

source: http://bevcooks.com/2013/01/portobello-mushroom-and-kale-stroganoff/

Leave a Reply

